Show Stopping Stan Smith’s

Today was my first day at Esquire, and what an amazing experience it’s been already. Working in one of the worlds most prestigious and renowned menswear magazines is a serious proud moment of mine. One day in and I’m already dreading the day I have to leave. It’s in the perfect location, too, right next to Carnaby Street in London. This means that lunch breaks will be spent wandering  in and out of Soho boutiques, Supreme, Adidas and Libertys, while munching on something delicious from the Nordic Bakery, of course.

The area lends itself to some great photography opportunities, just check out my Instagram and you’ll see exactly what I mean!

Today my out defined smart casual down to a tee, literally and hypothetically. A classic pair of white/navy Stan Smith’s that I’ve worn in, creased, and then treated with paint, leather protector and a new set of waxed laces was paired with the new A.P.C. 11:59 tee, a pair of ASOS skinny crop navy trousers and a Next navy summer jacket. Sticking to two colours, the outfit offers itself to smart casual attire, a look which name confuses the saviest of style gurus.


Unfortunately I wasn’t able to take a full length photo, so snippets will have to do – but I hope I’ve painted the picture well. Ha!

Smart casual is always that one attire that throws me off. Do I wear a suit and trainers, or causal clothes and smart shoes? Either way, I always fear of not looking fashionable. I feel when you keep it classic, minimal and pretty much tonal, you can’t go wrong.

Maybe I could do a guide to smart casual in the future. Would we like that?

I’m coming back throughout the next fortnight with updates about my time with Esquire, outfits and photography which you can find on my Instagram.

Stay tuned,

Eric.

Leave a Reply

