A Journey With Supreme

This story starts about six years ago.

For a 13 year old boy who’s never been to Soho, Soho is quite something. Soho is a myriad of sex and fashion and drugs and rock and roll and even today it’s still a lot to take in. My eyes would dart around, consumed by neons and graffiti. Skaters, dodgy dealings… I loved the hustle and the hectic way of Soho. What I loved more though were the shops.

(The clothes shops…)

It wasn’t until I was about 16 that I travelled into London by myself or with friends. We’d always go to Soho. Naively, I knew nothing about some of these shops that today I hold as the grail of street fashion – MACHINE-A, FootPatrol and of course, Supreme.

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 15.55.18

 

I’ve finally found my niche. I think Supreme is for the people looking for their niche.

Mum would never let me in Supreme. I didn’t know what was downstairs, so I never went in alone either.

When I was 16, however, I braved it after looking on their online shop and ventured inside the Soho store. Let down? Completely. This was at a time when I loved all things mainstream (not that there’s anything bad with that – each to their own), so this style wasn’t me. A mash up of skate and street and gaudy  luxury, a combination that today I fully appreciate.

For me, Supreme has been my pathway into streetwear, a look I execute daily. The brand that’s too damn cool for streetwear has, in the past year, catered for my specific tastes. In the past year, I’ve gone from owning no Supreme goods, to a fair few pieces. Collabs, exclusives, random bits and bobs and some usual items that are always in stock, I’ve got a little bit of everything. I have literally had a journey with Supreme. It’s been an up and down rollercoaster of a journey, but finally I can walk into a shop and buy something EVERY SINGLE TIME.

Supreme will always be the brand for the skaters, the rebels – everything I’m not. But who said Supreme is just to be skated in? Street wear is at its biggest ever, and it should be celebrated in all guises. Bogo’s (Box Logo’s for those unaware) and other simplistic pieces fit my aesthetic perfectly, and as sad as it may sound, I’ve finally found my niche. I think Supreme is for the people looking for their niche. Their way. Supreme do it their own way.

The point I’m trying to make is… have a journey of your own. No matter what your style, I guarantee you there’s been a brand you’ve always wanted to ‘try’ but you thought it wouldn’t work for you? Well, that’s my Supreme. And today, it’s the stuff that works for me best.

Don’t fret – mix up your style, even if it’s not for you. You never know, it might be your Supreme.

 

Thanks,
Eric.

Leave a Reply

